Thumbnail Image 1

2017 Bill Riley Talent Search

Bill Riley Talent Search will be held on the Winneshiek County Fairgrounds Wednesday, July 12, 2017. Bill Riley Search is sponsored by Hy-Vee Stores.

The mission of the Bill Riley Talent Search is to serve as a developmental platform for young Iowans involved in the performing arts. By maintaining a nurturing and educational environment the Talent Search aims to promote self esteem, self discipline and self confidence while helping them to achieve their goals and shoot for the stars, one performance at a time.

Show is open to legal residents of the state of Iowa only. Acts must appear in a locally sponsored/Iowa State Fair sanctioned show somewhere in the state of Iowa and be the show qualifier to be eligible to compete at the Iowa State Fair. Judges decisions are final.

Sprouts are 2 through 12 years and Seniors are 13 through 21 years. A person’s age for the Iowa State Fair competition is determined at the time they win a local show (July 12, 2017). A 12 year old (or 21 year old) could turn 13 (or 22) by the State Fair and still be eligible in the Sprout (or Senior) division, as they met age requirements at the time of qualification.

Entry Deadline: June 30, 2017

Bill Riley Talent Search Rules 2017 and Entry Form

Iowa State Fair Competition:
August 10-20, 2017


2016 Winners

There were seven acts in the Sprout division and 8 in the Senior division.

Winners: Sprouts: Ariana Meyerhoff , New Hampton, performing Acro Solo—“Twisted Sister.” Seniors: Kiana Carlson and Kylie Carlson, Cedar Rapids, performing dance duet “The Light that Never Fails”

Sprout Prize-winners

2016 Sprouts

2016 Sprouts

2016 Senior Winners

Emma Reiter, Talent Search Sprout Winner 2015, went on to win at the Iowa State Fair


Contact Us

Winneshiek County Fair
Mailing Address:
Winneshiek County Ag Assoc.
PO Box 201 Decorah, IA 52101
Delivery Address: 900 E Main St, Decorah, IA 52101
Fairgrounds Phone: 563-382-8514 (during the fair only)

Business Manager: Edna Schrandt 563-382-2019

Fair Board Members

Social Media